Okay, so no-one has actually asked us that question...yet, but we do get a lot of questions from customers asking what our capsules are made of and whether they are they suitable for vegetarians.
Veg caps and vegi caps are both names typically used to refer to cellulose based capsule shells that are used to encapsulate powders. Our vegetable capsules are made from a substance called HPMC, which stands for hydroxpropyl methylcellulose (often shortened to hypromellose). This contains no animal matter (unlike gelatin capsules) and is suitable for both vegetarians and vegans.
One of the benefits of having capsules of your favourite superfood as opposed to tablets is that capsules have a consistent disintegration time, typically less than 30 minutes for our capsules i.e. the capsule shell takes about 30 minutes to disintegrate once it has been eaten. For tablets, on the other hand, the disintegration time can often vary significantly, depending upon the nature of the powder and the amount of compression needed to manufacture the tablets. This is one of the reasons why not all of our products are available in tablets. As we don't use any bulking agents, fillers or binders in any of our tablets, it is often very difficult to make certain powders into tablets without resorting to high pressure and ending up with a sub-optimal disintegration time. Another benefit of taking capsules (rather than tablets) is that the capsule shell offers excellent protection for oxygen sensitive ingredients so capsulated supplements will stay fresher longer than their tablet and powder counterparts. However, this shouldn't be a major issue as long as you follow the storage instructions.
Our capsule shells are certified by the Soil Association to be GMO free and suitable for use in organic products. We tend to use size zero caps. You can see the relative size of the different capsules in the graphic below:
For more information on HPMC, please check out wikipedia